Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How many ports devices?
Hi guys 
I'm evaluating robo-tank as management system for my tank.

If I understood properly, this kit is the most feature-complete one: https://www.robo-tank.ca/Reef-pi-DIY-Har...ar-PCB-Kit

is this true ?

Can someone tell me how many device I can plug with this kit ?

I'll be able to plug:

- 6 dosing pumps
- 8 AC outlet (I need 220v universal outlet)
- 3 temperature probes
- 2 pH probes
- 1 feeder
- 1 stepper motor for zeolite automatic wash (like the automatic zeovit filter from korallenzucth)
- 1 stepper motor for cleaning skimmer (could be useful)

What else ? As I'm still new in reef-pi, robo-tank and marine aquarium tank , I don't know if I need more devices to connect.

Can I expand robo-tank adding multiple expansion boards ? If yes, which boards are available and which ports will add ?

Any idea/suggestions ?

If I understood properly, robotank deluxe as 2 db9 ports, so I can plug up to 2 expansion board.
One expansion board is the AC power outlet, but If I use the "Robo-Tank PCA9685 Expander", I can connect 2 AC power outlet board (16 AC outlets) to the PCA9685 expander and the PCA9685 to the robotank deluxe via I2C port. doing this, will keep free both db9 ports on the deluxe board.

In that case, I can plug 2 additional expansion boards directly using the db9 ports on the deluxe board.

But can I daisy-chain the PCA9685 boards to increase the ports even more ? PCA9685 can also connect to other expansion boards like this: https://www.robo-tank.ca/Reef-pi-Plug-an..._Assembled or just to AC power outlet ?
[-] The following 1 user Likes gandalf's post:
  • Rob F
Reply to top
Hi Gandalf, thanks for your interest, all my controller kits get you the same in the end however I'm going to have an updated controller in a few days, here's info on it.

https://www.robo-tank.ca/forum/Thread-Ro...Controller