Robo-Tank DIY Aquarium Controller Forum
Lights - NeoPixel/WS2812/... - Printable Version

+- Robo-Tank DIY Aquarium Controller Forum (https://www.robo-tank.ca/forum)
+-- Forum: Robo-Tank (https://www.robo-tank.ca/forum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: DIY Hardware Questions (https://www.robo-tank.ca/forum/forum-3.html)
+--- Thread: Lights - NeoPixel/WS2812/... (/thread-1263.html)

Lights - NeoPixel/WS2812/... - Jmgr - 11-14-2021

Hi there! Total beginner here.  Smile 

I had some questions about lighting. Kessil lights look very good but are a bit expensive. I am looking for alternatives. Is it possible to drive a NeoPixel led strip/matrix using Robo-Tank/reef-pi? There are libraries like rpi_ws281x that allow you to control these, but I don't know if it can be used directly. Would I need to write a driver for it? I'm a go developer and I saw that reef-pi is developed in go, so that could be an option (there is a Go wrapper for the library).

Alternatively, some lights are sold with brackets that would make it easy to put them on an aquarium, but I don't really see how to control the light color programmatically.

My goal would be have a day/night cycle. I'm "building" a small Walstad shrimp aquarium, so my light requirements are probably less critical than for a reef tank.

I haven't got a Robo-Tank yet (should arrive in a few weeks), but for now I have managed to connect a temperature sensor to a rpi zero 2 and have reef-pi draw a graph (yay!). I can do some soldering if needed.

Any ideas/hardware suggestions?

RE: Lights - NeoPixel/WS2812/... - Rob F - 11-14-2021

Hi Jmgr, welcome to the forum and I hope the controller arrives soon.